Sharing is caring!

Name: Jasdeep Kaur

Instagram:  @fit.kaur

Weight before – 43 kg

Weight now – 51 kg

Height 1.58 m

Age- 24

Location – Sydney, Australia

BEFORE (43 kg- 2011)

fitkaurindianfemalefitness-1

How did you get started?

Fitness has always been a huge part of my life as I’ve always played netball and oz tag as a kid. However in terms of my training, I’d say I’ve gotten very serious about it in the last year or so. I’ve also recently begun my personal trainer certification and synonymously started my fitness career at the Australian Fitness Institute. It’s great to be part of the team that helps shape and influence the fitness industry down under! 😀

Where does your motivation come from?

I went through a very negative period in my life and this is what launched me into my fitness. For me I found fitness to be an untapped form of therapy. For some reason there is something very therapeutic about lifting heavy things and putting them down!

Yes it makes me physically stronger but I’d say my biggest gain has been my mental strength- my mind has elevated to a level where insecurities do not exist.  

This is where my motivation comes from, its changed my life and I want to help other people see that they can change theirs too. I share some of my workouts and motivational posts on @fit.kaur instagram ☺

fitkaurindianfemalefitness-2

How do you feel your flexibility helps you both in and out of the gym?

I have made huge flexibility gains both physically and mentally in my training. Stretching properly before and after exercise has helped me avoid serious injuries and has given me a greater range of motion which is always appreciated. In terms of mental flexibility, working out in the gym and varying my routines has taught me to be more open to change and to handle uncertainty better.

What workout routine has worked best for you?

I follow a weight based training program where I lift 5 times a week and some cardio on my rest days ☺ I feel this works best for me because I really enjoy lifting weights and building my strength.

fitkaurindianfemalefitness-5

If you had to pick only 3 exercises what would they be and why?

Deadlifts – my number one go to exercise because it works out pretty much all your muscle groups giving you a full workout!

Squats– they say squats are a girls best friend and I couldn’t agree more. Squats have helped shape my glutes and legs to a shape that I am very proud of ☺

Dumbell shrugs- I love doing shrugs with dumbbells or even the bar. They’re a great way to build your traps and are definitely one of my favourite upper body exercises. I love them and would highly recommend incorporating them into your routine!

fitkaurindianfemalefitness-4

What is your diet like?

I follow a “common sense” based approach to my eating where I eat clean 90% of the time but also have the occasional cheat meal. I incorporate alot of greens, lentils, chicken and fish into my diet and find this works best for me ☺

What’s the one food you couldn’t live without, and how do you handle food cravings?

Chips/crisps! I love them sooo much!  I handle cravings by swapping to a relatively “healthier” alternative with brown rice and sweet potato crisps..this seems to do the trick 😉

fitkaurindianfemalefitness-7

What’s something not many people know about you?

Alot of people don’t know I went through a very tough period where I was unhappy. I finally decided to get myself out of that situation and took about a year off to figure out what mBEFOREy purpose was and how I could pursue it. In this uncertain period, I discovered that i LOVE helping people and fitness is what truly makes me happy. I then took steps to mould my career around my passion and honestly couldn’t be happier!

fitkaurindianfemalefitness-8

Favorite Quote:

“Chardi Kala” this is a concept in the sikh religion which basically translates to “always in high spirits even in times of adversity”, its about being positive and keeping optimistic even when life gets you down. I loved it so much I actually got it tattooed on my wrist so it serves as a constant reminder to stay in this state of optimism throughout my day.


Sharing is caring!